L’Oréal Australia For Women In Science Fellowships

[From Nalini Joshi -T.]

Applications for the 2010 L’Oréal Australia For Women In Science Fellowships are now open and close on Monday 3 May.
The three $20,000 Fellowships are intended to help early-career women scientists to consolidate their careers and rise to leadership positions in science.
The Fellowships are awarded to women  who have completed their PhD in the last five years (allowance is made for maternity leave),   have shown scientific excellence in their career to date and  have an appropriate research plan that will be assisted by the one-year Fellowship.

The L’Oréal Australia For Women In Science Fellowships are now in their fourth year. They are supported by the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian National Commission for UNESCO.

The Fellowships are highly competitive and  potential nominees are encouraged to read the brief profiles of past recipients before applying.
Full criteria for eligibility, application instructions and profiles of past Fellows are online at <http://www.scienceinpublic.com.au/lorealhttp://www.scienceinpublic.com.au/loreal.
Read about past Fellows at <http://www.scienceinpublic.com.au/loreal/fellows>http://www.scienceinpublic.com.au/loreal/fellows.

Applications close at midnight on Monday 3 May 2010 and will only be accepted via the online form.


Cheryl Praeger named as 2009 Western Australian Scientist of the Year

Cheryl Praeger at UWA has just been named 2009 Western Australian Scientist of the Year, after becoming a finalist last week.    Congratulations Cheryl!

[Via SymOmega.]

Nobel Prize Laureates

Among this year’s Nobel Prize Laureates is the Australian-American molecular biologist Elizabeth Blackburn, currently at UC San Francisco, for her work with Carol Greider and Jack Szostak on their work on telomeres and their role in protecting chromosomes.  In the US, Blackburn is perhaps best known for being controversially dismissed from President George W. Bush’s Council on Bioethics after expressing support for embryonic stem cell research.

The Canadian physicist Williard Boyle, who won one of this year’s three Nobel Prizes in Physics for his co-invention of the imaging semiconductor circuit with George Smith, commented recently about the increasing tendency of governments to impose bureaucratic constraints on scientific research:

Dr. Boyle, who won the award with former colleague George Smith, warned that managers need to give scientists leeway to come up with the kinds of transformative inventions that are too often stifled by paperwork and red tape.

What scientists face today is “almost disgraceful … The bureaucrats want to get a hold of the money and ask for business plans. Now do you think that George Smith and I ever wrote a business plan? Not at all,” Dr. Boyle, now 85 and retired, told a reporter Tuesday. “You don’t have time to do that kind of baloney.”

2010 ICM speakers

The list of plenary and sectional speakers for the International Congress of Mathematicians on 19-27 August, 2010 in Hyderabad, India is now available.  Among the 171 sectional speakers are two Australian-based mathematicians, Norman Dancer (for the PDE section, at U. Sydney) and Brendan McKay (for the Combinatorics section, at ANU), as well as Australian-born Mark Kisin (for Number Theory, now at U. Chicago) and former UWA student Akshay Venkatesh (also for Number Theory, now at Stanford).

Further statistics on the speakers can be found at the AustMS blog.  (Amusingly, the male/female split among the 171 sectional speakers is 147.5/23.5, due to some speaking slots being joint between two mathematicians.)

[Thanks to Cheryl Praeger for the info.]

Xu-Jia Wang elected to AAS

A belated congratulations to Xu-Jia Wang from the Mathematical Science Institute at ANU for being admitted to the Australian Academy of Sciences this year!

Hannan Medal

The Australian Academy of Science has just announced its 2009 awards for academic excellence.  The Hannan medal for research in pure mathematics went to Norman Dancer FAA at U. Sydney.  Congratulations Norman!

Venkatesh receives 2008 SASTRA Ramanujan prize

I’m happy to report that my friend (and UWA undergraduate) Akshay Venkatesh, now a professor of mathematics at Stanford University, has won the 2008 SASTRA Ramanujan prize for outstanding contributions to areas of mathematics influenced by the great Indian mathematician, Srinivasa Ramanujan.  The prize, worth US$10,000, is only awarded to those under the age of thirty-two (the age of Ramanujan at his time of death).  Congratulations Akshay!

Update, Jan 14: By coincidence, the Australian mathematics society has just awarded its annual prizes at last month’s joint Australia-NZ colloquium, in particular giving the AustMS medal to Shahar Mendelson and the George Szekeres medal to Hyam Rubinstein.